Call to Action. Support Sharks and urge these Senators to pass the ban unamended.

California's Shark Fin Ban –  AB 376 (Fong/Huffman) – HEARING DATE : 08/15/11

The Bill to protect sharks is in peril of being watered down. Pressure by Senators Leland Yee and Ted Lieu, and the hired guns of a prestigious lobby firm is causing serious damage to the passage of AB 376.  These Senators are pressuring the Committee and bill's author Paul Fong to water down the bill to allow fins from "sustainable" shark fisheries.  This amendment could open new commercial fisheries for sharks by making an otherwise unprofitable fish profitable by adding market value from the fins. The less palatable meat is very likely to end up as fertilizer or pet food while people enjoy their luxury.

Shark populations cannot sustain a focused commercial fishery. The Spiny Dogfish Fisheries of the East Coast and the Pacific Northwest cannot supply the current demand for fins, will be exhausted and will provide an avenue for black market fins.

We will be creating a legal fin trade and will allow penetration of illegal fins into the market, thereby allowing shark finning.

Please CALL members of the Appropriations Committee and urge them to vote YES on AB 376 WITHOUT Amendments.

 

Senator Christine Kehoe (Chair): (916) 651-4039 senator.kehoe@sen.ca.gov

Senator Mimi Walters (Vice Chair): (916) 651-4033 senator.walters@sen.ca.gov

Senator Elaine Alquist: (916) 651-4013 senator.alquist@sen.ca.gov

Senator Bill Emmerson: (916) 651-4037 senator.emmerson@sen.ca.gov

Senator Ted W. Lieu: (916) 651-4028 senator.lieu@sen.ca.gov

Senator Fran Pavley: (916) 651-4023 senator.pavley@sen.ca.gov

Senator Curren Price: (916) 651-4026 senator.price@sen.ca.gov

Senator Sharon Runner: (916) 651-4017 senator.runner@sen.ca.gov

Senator Darrell Steinberg:  (916) 651-4006 senator.steinberg@sen.ca.gov

Thank you!